Exploring Shapes in Space

geometric closed  062_full_circle

photo    087_wings_gal

Assignment: Create a symbolic design the expresses who you are. Show Geometric, and organic represention of the design, one in an open compostion the other in a closed composition

Tags: 2-D Design, Colored Pencils on Bristal, PhotoShop, 11″ x 14″, 5″x7″, Sept 21, Sept 22

Geometric piece is top, Organic piece is bottom

The symbolism on these pieces that I created expresses two things about me: my love of swimming and my favorite type of music, dubstep.

For the organic work, I drew a great white shark jumping out of the water with the image of an eye looking at a wave on its side. Sharks are one of my favorite aquatic animals and I’ve always found them interesting. This is an open composition due to the shark’s tail not being in the frame. The shape of the shark and the waves are organic because these shapes can be found in nature and are not man made. Similar to Lance Goines “Wings,” my work shows an animal in motion in the same fashion as the animal in Goines work. But unlike Goines, my animal is not popping out of the frame.

The geometric work is expressing my liking to the music genre of dubstep. One of my favorite artists is Deadmau5 (pronounced Dead Mouse). The image shows a turn table, the audio levels of a sterio, and Deadmau5’s head. Machines are mostly geometric objects and to make these shapes on Photoshop made this process very simple. This is a closed compostion because all objects stay within the frame.  This work is similar to many of Goines’ work involving machines, not having much organic elements to them and having a strict geometric appearance.

About ciolekaj

I am a student at Alfred State College in the Digital Media and Animation Department. I've always had a passion for drawing and wanted to learn more to improve on it. I one day hope to create a video game I designed with the help of the skills im learn while at Alfred.
This entry was posted in Time-Based and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

