Mask Project

photo copy photo

Tags: Foundations, Charcoal on Bristle, Paper Mask, cut Bristle and tape, Oct 21

This mask is made from cut out pieces of Bristle paper folded that were folded into the shape of my face. By pressing the paper to the surface of my face, I bent and shaped each piece to the shape of that section of my face.

The drawing of the mask under a light took the skills I learned throughout the year. The preceptive drawings had helped with drawing the mask close to scale along with the details on the mask that were drawn in. The lighting on the mask shows the layering of the cut paper that forms the mask by the lighter areas on the drawing. I have started to see how objects or arranged in an open space and  how to draw them onto paper.

I have improved a lot in drawing still lives on this class, but shading is still difficult for me to do. I’m not that great at shading becuase i find it hard to see the levels of dark to light.

About ciolekaj

I am a student at Alfred State College in the Digital Media and Animation Department. I've always had a passion for drawing and wanted to learn more to improve on it. I one day hope to create a video game I designed with the help of the skills im learn while at Alfred.
This entry was posted in Non-Timebased and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

