Wire and Cross Contour Drawing

DSC03149      DSC03150 DSC03151        Scan 5 copy

Tags:Foundations, Wire Form and Drawing, 38.5″x26″x14″, wire and graphite on Bristle Board

My wire form is the robot character Clap Trap for the Borderlands video game series. The weight of the arms is more than the main frame of the form, but it does balance on the wheel. The height of the body is about 24 inches, including the antenna, the total height is 38.5 inches. With the arms in the position that they are currently in, the length is around 26 inches and the width is 14. The wheel base radius is about 5 inches, the other half of the wheel would be covered by the rest of the robot body, as it is in the video game.

The skills I have learned in class that lead to this project helped with actually creating a physically a 3d form. With the knowledge of knowing how to draw objects in space, I mapped out how I was going to design my form with a cross contour drawing of Clap Trap. If I were told to do a project like this at the beginning of the year, I would struggle with the cross contour drawing, but I feel like I could have done the wire form, having not made my own 3D piece in a long time. I have had experience creating 3D work, if making things out of LEGOs counts. I always enjoyed creating things with my hands, and i believe this class has helped me with designing things in general by seeing objects in space and knowing the form.

About ciolekaj

I am a student at Alfred State College in the Digital Media and Animation Department. I've always had a passion for drawing and wanted to learn more to improve on it. I one day hope to create a video game I designed with the help of the skills im learn while at Alfred.
This entry was posted in Non-Timebased and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

