Phenakistoscope

photo 2 copy

 

Tags: Foundations, Phenakistoscope, 9″ circle, Ink, Colored Pencil, Sharpie, Bristle Board

For the phenakistoscope, I took a small figure of a Halo spartan and drew it rotating 360 degrees while also moving back and forth. To make the figure move backwards, I didnt press as hard with the blue colored pencil to get the faded colors for the further and pressed harded to get the bolder colors in the closer images. 

When I first started drawing the figure onto the phenakistoscope, I did not mean to have the figure be smaller than other panels. I had a difficulty keeping a constant size while in the process of drawing the figure. But because I knew how to make it seem like the smaller images where the figure being further in the image, I colored the smaller images lighter than the larger images. The previous assignments have helped greatly with giving the affect of depth in the project, even if that was not meant to be in the beginning. My range of depth has improved over the course of the semester with all the practicing from the figure and chair drawings, I can definitely see forms differently now.

About ciolekaj

I am a student at Alfred State College in the Digital Media and Animation Department. I've always had a passion for drawing and wanted to learn more to improve on it. I one day hope to create a video game I designed with the help of the skills im learn while at Alfred.
This entry was posted in Non-Timebased and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

