Personification Project

subshark

this assignment was to take an animal and an object and combine them into a single creature. I took a shark as the animal and a submarine as the object. The combined creature turned out to be a shark with the metallic features of a submarine. The shark’s body has become the form of a submarine; rivets line the spine and side of the body, the gills have become vents, the fins and tail are sharper, and the main moving segments of the shark have been seperated into their own pieces for the creature to be about to move like a real shark.

To give the appearance that the figure was 3D object in space, I used lighter shading as the body continued to get smaller in space. With the segmented piees of the body, I shaded the side that would be in shadow to show the detail of the shapes, the same goes for the vented gill area and the eye. Because of the position of the lighting, there is a shadow of the dorsal fin that is casting onto the body of the shark.

All the projects that were assigned have helped me to fulfill the requirements of this project. From the first drawing of the objects in space, to the perspective drawings, I feel that those have helped me improve my skills of drawing objects in 3 diminsions. My shading has improved with the help of such projects as the Chair project. The experience from that project has helped to take my drawing of the shark and give it depth on the paper. Not having taken a serious art class in high school, I feel like I have improved greatly with my drawing and understanding of objects in space.

About ciolekaj

I am a student at Alfred State College in the Digital Media and Animation Department. I've always had a passion for drawing and wanted to learn more to improve on it. I one day hope to create a video game I designed with the help of the skills im learn while at Alfred.
This entry was posted in Non-Timebased and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

