Digital Jorunal Week 7

1. Before taking this figure drawing class, I would draw figures I some from video games, anime, and comics as reference. Not by tracing them, by looking at the image and copying it. After a while of that, I could draw most figures pretty accurate in scale without using reference. But once I stopped doing that, it was hard for me to draw accurately scaled figures. I plan on getting even better with drawing the human figure by drawing the different parts of the body and the body as a whole. To practice, I plan to go to other figure drawing sessions outside of class, look up tutorials, and tracing parts of the body I have difficult with drawing. My current goal is to improve my skills on figure drawing to greatly improve the appearance of my character and improve him as though he is meant to belong in a comic or video game. Another goal is to try to get around the idea of having my own comic series of my character or a series of chapters about his story and illustrate the key points of it.

What I think is means to be an artist is to have the ability to express one’s self in a creative manner. Being an artist is being able to put your soul and hard work into a piece you truly enjoy doing no matter what others think and how they react to it. Artists need to be able to take the negative criticism and use that to improve their work even greater than before.

2. I have greatly improved on drawing the human figure with little to no reference since starting this class. I have improved the scaling of the human body and being able to place in a space properly. Drawing the skeletal frame of the figure first had been a big help to draw the rest of the figure in proportion to the rest of the body. The success of using the skeleton is the figure is well proportioned and looks like a regular human, the failure is that when I try to put the figure in a more complex position, something the proportions are off and some parts of the body and too or too short. I need to remember the depth of the figure if I am to solve this issue,

3. Scan 1    Scan 2 Scan 3     Scan 4 Scan 5     Scan 6 Scan 7     Scan 8 Scan 9     Scan

4.

2014-02-27 18.47.37     2014-02-27 18.45.56       2014-03-02 16.13.29

About ciolekaj

I am a student at Alfred State College in the Digital Media and Animation Department. I've always had a passion for drawing and wanted to learn more to improve on it. I one day hope to create a video game I designed with the help of the skills im learn while at Alfred.
This entry was posted in Non-Timebased and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

