Drapery Pre Critique

2014-03-02 16.13.05

 

This project was similar to the Chair Project in the semester before this one. The Chair Project was difficult to draw the stripes on fabric with the creases and folds to make it look natural on the chair. This project has more to do with lighting and shading of the figure rather than the use of line for the chair. The chair drawing did help for this project to get used to drawing the folds and creases and fabric.

This project helped me understand the lighting element in drawing. Figuring out the shadows and darker spots on the fabric to look three dimensional and realistic. Pior to classes like this, all the clothing on the figures I drew would look flat on the character. Shading is still an issue for me but I am doing my best to improve on it. Once I get the basic idea of shading, I feel like the characters I will draw will look more life like and feel more real. Projects like this really help me understand more of drawing characters to give them life in animation and still drawings like comics.

About ciolekaj

I am a student at Alfred State College in the Digital Media and Animation Department. I've always had a passion for drawing and wanted to learn more to improve on it. I one day hope to create a video game I designed with the help of the skills im learn while at Alfred.
This entry was posted in Non-Timebased and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

