Skeleton Within

2014-04-07 20.05.48

Caravaggio’s oil painting of David with the Head of Goliath is the painting i choose to place a skeleton inside of. To have a more accurate outline of the painting to place the skeleton inside, I projected the image of a projector and traced the outline and potion of the figure in the image. After drawing the outline of the figure, I drew the skeleton inside to the proportions to the body of David. Some of the bones had to be warped in order to appear that they fit inside of the figure. To show the depth of the bones in the skeleton, I made the bones that were closer to the front a lighter color and made the bones further back a darker color so the skeleton didn’t look so flat. I colored the bones to roughly the same hue that real human bones and not make them completely white. Because the color of the bones was too close to the color of the flesh on the original image, I gave a more pink hue to the skin on the body; having the lighter pinks in the brighter spots and having the darker pinks in the shaded spots of the original. To make the skeleton appear to be blended into the figure, I used a combination of colored pencil and light amounts of paint in areas where there was lighter muscle mass on the body.

This project was enjoyable up to the point of having the painting portion. I enjoyed drawing the image and placing the skeleton inside, that was the easy part for me. The painting and having the bones and flesh blend properly was a very difficult task for me because my ability to paint isn’t very good. If I were to redo this project, I would’ve tried to use a medium that I am more skilled with or one that is easier to make the colors blend like pastels. The water color was very hard to blend properly without having it ruin the color of the bone and skin.

The drawing of the skeleton has helped me with drawing the human figure to have a more accurate human shape and proportions. The project seemed to be the opposite by drawing the human form first then drawing the skeleton afterwards. Drawing the skeleton after drawing the figure had shown that the original figure was out of proportion when it was painted. This tells me that the artist of the original painting did not focus much on the proportions of the hum figure, the right humerus was slightly shorter than it should be.

 

 

About ciolekaj

I am a student at Alfred State College in the Digital Media and Animation Department. I've always had a passion for drawing and wanted to learn more to improve on it. I one day hope to create a video game I designed with the help of the skills im learn while at Alfred.
This entry was posted in Non-Timebased and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

