Charcoal Self Portrait

2014-04-21 16.52.33

The intent of this portrait was to give the appearance of class to be presented as formal. The irony of this portrait is the clothes I am wearing give off a casual feel instead of a formal one, the formallity of the portrait is the pose. The facial expression is giving off a quizzical look with the raised eyebrow and the pose give off the sense that an answer to a question might be given. The shading in some areas had to be exaggerated to show the different levels of light in the picture. The darkness of the background is there to help support the lighter parts of the hand and help to blend the dark shoulder into the background. Similar to the picture used as reference where the shoulder was in darker light and the darker colors seem to blend into each other. Im the original picture, there were areas of black that blended in the the figure, I added in this black into the background to bring the lighter areas more forward and to push the darker areas into the background. The shading in some areas had to be exaggerated to show the different levels of light in the picture.

With this project I feel like I have improved great since the finishing of the Chair Project in the first semester. I think I did a better good with shading the fabric and face on this project because of other projects like the chair project. Though I feel like shading the hair was very difficult the the lighting in the picture, if I spent more time on the hair, maybe I could’ve made it less flat and pop out more.

 

About ciolekaj

I am a student at Alfred State College in the Digital Media and Animation Department. I've always had a passion for drawing and wanted to learn more to improve on it. I one day hope to create a video game I designed with the help of the skills im learn while at Alfred.
This entry was posted in Non-Timebased and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

