Traditional Japanese Media: Dogu

FullSizeRender (1) FullSizeRender

The elements taken from the ancient Dogu examples to make my own were the abnormal, humanoid appearance; the huge eyes, the stumpy limbs, and the misshapen body. The examples taken highly detailed, made with skills and tools that are far beyond the range of my own.

The biggest difficulty was trying to recreate a a clay figure in a style that was done thousands of years ago, without no knowledge of the original process, it was hard to remake a Dogu to exactly how the examples look. Some one the benefits where that the time it took to complete this dogu wasn’t as much as it probably would’ve taken an actual dogu thousands of years ago.

The way I went about creating this figure was I took Super Sculpey and regular sculpting tools. The Sculpey was improvised for the type of clay that was used for the examples and the tool improvised for the tools used thousands of years ago. The techniques that where used to make these original Dogu where a combination of ancient pottery and clay sculpting while the techniques I used to create my Dogu were shaping the clay into the forms that looked like the ancient Dogu. Because I did not possess the techniques or the tools to make an original Dogu, I had to keep mine simplified so it wouldn’t fall apart easily while firing it.

About ciolekaj

I am a student at Alfred State College in the Digital Media and Animation Department. I've always had a passion for drawing and wanted to learn more to improve on it. I one day hope to create a video game I designed with the help of the skills im learn while at Alfred.
This entry was posted in Non-Timebased and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

