Self Critique: Advanced Animation

One of the things that this class has thought me that I greatly need to improve on my time management skills. With this exercises that have a time limit of an hour or lower, I have little or incomplete work done. For future assignments I really need to take the time to write down what I need to get done and give myself a due dates and quotas each day. For assignments outside of class, it may be beneficial for me to work in a place that isn’t in my dorm room, furthering myself from distractions, even if having a multiple monitor setup helps me see my animations better.

I also have a problem with procrastination, my animations suffer in quality when I try to get them done last minute. The last assignment for example, the Story Board Animation I put off until the two days before, and skipped some steps to hand it in on time. If I hadn’t, the there would have been less errors in the animation and more fluidity on the movements of Norman, the rig. Plus, it didn’t help that I had other assignments for other classes all due on the same day. But that goes back to creating a schedule with animation quotas and time limits to help me stay on track of my work and get quality animation done on time, ready to present for class the next day.

With a schedule and quota almost forcing me to get work done for the rest of the semester, then there shouldn’t be a problem with not having work done on time. When I’ not having to rush or skip steps the night before and gradually did work over time, the quality of my work should be greater than it would be if I did rush the night before. If I plan to do stop motion for this next assignment, then having schedule to work with would be needed to get the number of animated frames done on time with enough time to edit them into Premiere and have a full animation done.

About ciolekaj

I am a student at Alfred State College in the Digital Media and Animation Department. I've always had a passion for drawing and wanted to learn more to improve on it. I one day hope to create a video game I designed with the help of the skills im learn while at Alfred.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

